Co-Op 5.125% Sept 2017

I am fairly new to buying bonds and have recently been getting out of Equities and now seem to have mostly cash just sitting in my SIPP. Does anyone see a possible downside of purchasing 50K of the Co-Op 5.125% and sitting on them until they mature?

Comments

• One possible downside would be a lack of diversification in owning just one bond. An alternative would be to buy 5 or 10 and spread risk and maybe have different maturity dates. Like most people I am aware of the financial issues the Co-op had recently although I haven't kept up to date and you would have to be happy that they are going to pay the coupons and maturity value in full. Any bid/offer spread and commission charges would have to be factored into the purchase price you get which will reduce slightly the headline yield which seems to be about 6.3% tax free in a SIPP

What made you pick this bond out of all the thousands available? I know nothing of your situation, your assets, your objectives, how much risk you are willing to take etc. so ultimately only you can make this decision.
  • As with Frugal I would be tempted to spread the risk over a number of bonds when I first started I put all my money in Bradford and Bingley PIBS. I enjoyed the coupon payments for many years and then Gordon browns Labour government nationalised the bonds and I received no payment for years. I had a happy ending with this one recently, but I was still working and the income was a bonus not a necessity.
    Take a look at GACA or GACB, AVIVA preference and RSA preference shares, compare the coupon and you may find it worth spreading your risk. As always do your own research and be aware of your situation and risks involved.