West Bromwich BS

As per my Manchester BS post I am feeling adventurous today so I bought a few more of these.

I noticed that interims were published last week and they look pretty good to me - they are on the right track. I calculate that resumption of some sort of payment could be as short as three years away i.e. not long really in the scheme of things.

Resumption may not be to the full amount but something. I'm hoping that when interest does resume I will be on a high return. Anyway, that's my take. Here's hoping!

Comments

• Dandigirl, You may have a very very long wait, with the coupon reduced & linked to the PPDS.
    I’m not a professional
    However the:-
    Total PPDS = £176.1m
    Total PIBS = 75.0m
    Total capital that could earn a Dividend = £251.1m
    Only 25% of pre-tax profits max payable as dividend to PPDS
    To provide a yield of say 4% = total cost of £12.5m
    Therefore required to make pre-tax profit of £50m (no chance!)
    Profit for the half year was only £4.2m

Perhaps I am wrong in my calculation?

But my guess is that any dividend will be very small
    Manchester BS looks the better option
  • Hello shaunm - Pretty much go with most of what you say.

However by way of clarification - there can be no interest payments while the cumulative reserves are in deficit. My thinking is that it will take around 3 years to clear the deficit at the current rate of reduction.

Then interest payments on the PIBs can be no more than the interest paid of the PPDS, max. 6.15%.

So I agree with pretty much the first part of what you say. But your calculation above has been done at par, I believe. Purchases today are around say one-third of par which means any interest based on par can be tripled when calculated on today's purchase price. I'm coming at it from the other direction i.e. anything that is paid might be say 1% calculated at par which would equate to 3% for me.