Yorkshire Building Society 13.5%

I own some Yorkshire Building Society 13.5% 2025 which are currently priced at 152. I have tried to find out if the value of this Bonds is at risk with the new future rules on TIER 1 capital without success. Any information will be gratefully received

Comments

• You describe them as bonds but I think you are referring to the Pibs. This website says, "Converts to PPDS if core tier 1 falls below 5%".

They were mentioned in MoneyWeek (20 Dec 2013, page 16) as one of "Four Pibs to consider buying now". The article noted that Tier 1 Capital ratio is 13.7%. The article also mentioned that Pibs issued before 1 Jan this year will be excluded from regulatory capital by 2021. If the building society decides it needs to issue CCDSs in order to improve its capital position then these would suffer any losses before Pibs do, making Pibs safer.

I'm fairly new to Pibs, having bought my first holding this week (SBSB, ie: Skipton 6.875%, since you ask) so others may have more knowledge to share than I do.
  • I would personally hold on until the YBS provides a better tender than below:-
    I think the risk has been much reduced (as per JGH comment)
    See Note Below
    16 December 2013. Yorkshire Building Society (the Society) announces today the results of its invitation to holders of its outstanding £100,000,000 13.5 per cent. Convertible Tier 2 Capital Notes due 2025 (ISIN: XS0498549194) (the Notes) to tender their Notes for purchase by the Society for cash (such invitation, the Offer).
    The Expiration Deadline for the Offer was 4.00 p.m. (London time) on 13 December 2013.
    As at the Expiration Deadline, the Society had received valid tenders for purchase of £74,308,000 in aggregate principal amount of Notes. The Purchase Price in respect of the Notes is 150 per cent. of the principal amount of such Notes. The Society has decided to accept all valid tenders of the Notes.